April so far,

GOOD NEWS!

I just received the letter to say that fashion designer Erin Davis and I were SUCCESSFUL in our application for a Regional Arts Development Fund, that means $2000 in the bank to complete a fashion/art collaboration where I design and hand print a fabric series for Erin to make a cloths range from. Our completed designs will be on show during the Surfers Paradise Festival 2010 at the Elsewhere fashion show! sooo exciting!

As well as this, another grant proposal which I was a part of was successful in this round of RADF, which means I will be working with Jason Nelson and a few other new media artists to create large scale projection video-artworks to be put up temporarily around Surfers Paradise here on the Gold Coast.  YAY.

There has also been some disappointment this April, my application to the Youth Arts Queensland “Young Artsworker Mentor Program” was unsuccessful, which means that I am still only volunteering at the Gold Coast City Gallery and only ‘unofficially’ being mentored by curator Virginia Rigney. However I did write an application to NAVA’s Curator Development Initiative so there is still hope that I will get an official position as mentored intern at the gallery.

Word is still out on two other RADF projects I am involved in including a mural project and some workshop facilitation…

In other news:
My artwork has been exhibited at Coolangatta Cafe “Bread and Butter”, I have been commissioned to do a portrait for my acupuncturist, my papercutting are soon going to be on sale at “Reap’n’sow”, a new Burleigh Heads gallery/boutique and I have put in an application to the Splendor in the Grass “Splendid” artist residency for 2010/2011.

all in all, a great month (so far!)

Leave a comment

Filed under update

Leave a Reply

