Recent events

It’s been a while since I updated you all – my apologies!

I have been busy as ever, so here is a quick overview and some pics for your eyes.

I have started collecting x-rays for a cutting series so if you have any please email me and I’ll let you know how you can send them to me to be recycled into art!

The image of my cutting for Emma and Aiden’s wedding has been accepted to the “Love is Here” book competition  – a limited edition A5 booklet titled “Love is Here” will be launched in Rancho Notorious gallery in July 2011 and then travel to Ambush Gallery in Sydney in August.

Yesterday I got my skate deck in the mail for my entry to ‘Skate Decksabition 2’ showcasing at the Oneway Project Street Party on 9th July during the Surfers Paradise Festival! My entry is titled “There is only One Way to find out” – stay tuned for updates and photos…

The Flat White Spaces exhibition went really well -I even sold several of my paper cuttings, it was very flattering – much love to those who liked my work enough to buy it!

I have been profiled on a new site by a new artist collective LMTD SPACE LMTD is run by a number of artists based in most major cities around Australia which include, Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane. You can find the post about me here.

 

The past couple of weeks I been involved in a project called “Artist-by-Artist” an ABC Open digital stories project –
“Twelve artists from around the coast are attempting to tell each others’ stories as a mini video documentary for the ABC Open Artist by Artist project…The artists have been paired up and they will work with each other to search out the their counterpart’s story…The Gold Coast artists taking participating are Rebecca RossFrederic BerjotTal FitzpatrickGunther Illek,Rose StaffMary Elizabeth Barron, Dave GroomKimberley Bianca, Jess WestheadStephen Baxter,Nicholas Broughton and Narelle Urquhart.”

As well as all this my full time job at Volunteering Queensland is going swimmingly, I’m off to my first conference this week “Gathering 11” in Melbourne, and I have even started my own post on our emergency volunteering website.

I am also back with Crossing Divides as the caretaker of the organization during a bit of restructuring, its really going to put my new arts-business skills to the test!

Finally, I have been managing my sister – Sofia Fitzpatrick – who is an AMAZING jewellery designer, please visit her site to see the great silver skull jewellery which she makes using lost wax carving techniques.

Leave a comment

Filed under update

Leave a Reply

